Wien + Büdingen: Week 10

This week featured a much anticipated weekend trip to visit my family in Germany. Yes, I have family in Büdingen, Germany! The reason: my grandmother is one of 8 children. Her sister, more than 15 years her elder (I call her 2nd Grandma in mandarin), moved to Germany many many years ago and stayed there ever since. She raised two kids (my mom’s cousins) and has a few grandchildren (my second cousins). Do you follow?? In any case, I’m closest with my second cousin Cara, whom I met several years ago when their family first came to visit Vancouver in 2009. They came back to visit in late 2010 / early 2011, then I visited them in Germany in 2011 as part of a little post-high school graduation Eurotrip, and this time we visited in 2014! Since I didn’t do much this week besides do some school work (yes, I do study on exchange) and this Germany trip, I’ll keep this blog post short 🙂

Throwback to 2011. L to R: me, Cara, Markus & Hendryk (Cara's friends)

Throwback to 2011 in Vancouver. L to R: me, Cara, Markus & Hendryk (Cara’s friends)

This trip was also much anticipated because I was seeing my mom in person for the first time since September. She decided to come visit, and started her 10-day Europe trip by meeting me in Frankfurt.

I was so happy to see my cousin & this sign upon arrival (good marketing, Lufthansa)

I was so happy to see my cousin & this sign upon arrival (good marketing, Lufthansa)

The weekend consisted mostly of relaxing, eating, drinking hot tea, and catching up on family matters since the last time we all saw each other. While my mom chatted a lot with her cousin, my cousin unfortunately had to leave after dinner to return to Rostock, where she currently resides. I used the time to relax myself, complete school work, catch up on the blog, post photos, etc.

Cara roasting ingredients for a delicious tomato soup!

Cara roasting ingredients for a delicious tomato soup!

On the first night, we had a delicious feast of tomato soup, schnitzel and bacon-potato salad, and chocolate mousse for dessert. It was all sooo delicious.

L to R: me, mom, Sandy (mom's cousin), 2nd Grandma, Mandy (mom's cousin), Stephan (Mandy's SO), Cara

L to R: me, mom, Sandy (mom’s cousin), 2nd Grandma, Mandy (mom’s cousin), Stephan (Mandy’s SO), Cara. Self-timer made the photo slightly off-centre….

Their household has two hyper-energetic Jack Russell siblings, and they are adorable! I couldn’t stop snapping photos of them.

IMG_8518

Lounging doggies

Doggies in the morning!

Doggies in the morning!

Büdingen, where they live, is a little town about 40km from Frankfurt. Wikipedia says Büdingen is “famous for its well-preserved, heavily fortified medieval city wall and half-timbered houses.” With a population of just over 20,000, it’s quite small, but a good place to grow up. It’s what you would imagine a “cute little German town” to look like!

IMG_8534

Büdingen at dusk

At the end of the weekend, my mom and I said our goodbyes and returned to Vienna. It was my turn to play tourguide!

Next post: Vienna and Italy with my mom

2 thoughts on “Wien + Büdingen: Week 10

Leave a Reply

